top of page
  • Writer's pictureManasi Barmecha

Letter to a Windowpane

Updated: Aug 30, 2020


A moment ago, I was part of your future.

As you read this, I am quickly becoming part of your past. But in this moment, I strive. I strive so that each one of us feel the same.



Isn't that what connection is? Lately, I’ve turned to rather unlikely places in need of a conversation- not without being pleasantly surprised.

 



Dear windowpane, I think I understand you a little better now. You’ve been on the inside all your life. The just-beneath, the in-between, the almost-but-not-quite. I’m sorry I overlooked you. I was too busy looking over you. To the bright shiny lights outside. Despite the saying, so many of us still believe most of what glitters is gold. Was, at least. But I need your help now. Tell me how you’ve been, what you’ve been doing all your life to remain sane, dear windowpane.  They all used to say a windowpane life is no way to live. To watch, to dream, to hope, to despair vicariously. To be an arms’ length away from everything that’s glittery. Not anymore. We’re all living a windowpane life. That's the only way to live now. Let me begin by saying thank you. Thank you for holding my cup of coffee when I couldn’t. Thank you for letting my groceries rest on you before I find the motivation to put them in their place. Thank you for not complaining about getting soaked when I leave the windows open during the rains. Thank you for letting me pretend that my life is a music video as I sit on you for hours at a stretch.  Sometimes, I think I’m going mad, turning to a windowpane for answers. But I’ve stared outside the window long enough to know that I need to talk to something inside.  I will be very happy if you talked to me, maybe over a cup of coffee?

Yours, Manasi


Letter to a Windowpane: a reply Dear human, Your letter warms me, as do your cup of coffee and yourself. I'm going to let you in on a little secret: The window and I are good friends. The window doesn't think of me as beneath it, as I don't see the window above me. Sure, outside is where all the brighter lights are, but inside: there’s so much more.  There’s drama. The conversations, the fights and apologies There’s work. The jhadu, pocha and dirty utensils There’s emotion. The sighs, ‘I’m home-s’ and goodnights. Take it all in while you have the time.The outside will catch up soon enough.  I only have one complaint- The window just doesn’t get my humour.  Now that you’re here, you and I can share some inside jokes, over a cup of coffee maybe?] Oh also Leave the window open, I quite enjoy an occasional shower and woman please, Clear out your groceries.

Yours,  Windowpane



This piece is also available as a podcast

Click here to listen and show it some love:)


 






34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page